team application: john madonia

Go down

team application: john madonia

Post by the john madonia on Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:27 am

Name: John Madonia
I found out about Team Unknown Stars from various message boards and a Mtg.com article. The mannequin deck last year also was another reason as well.
My magic accomplishments consist of winning a ptq,top 16ing countless, I have a knack to play horrific matchups round 8. Currently being the top rated constructed player in New York State,(2079) qualified for Worlds in December and Berlin in October.

I play competitve magic to do something I feel im pretty good at. I am a deck builder at heart, I usually play something off the vest that though its not the best choice I feel I can play it well. Playing a deck that isn't 'tier 1' well, is much better then playing tier 1 deck poorly.

I want to join the team because I want to help others and well as myself improve their games. Long Island is a difficult area to find good testing as certain groups won't share or help out others, its a big high school drama. I have a lot of ideas about theory and deck construction. Im a much better designer then player.

I would bring to the team someone that knows constructed in and out. I've built decks for people in just the past two years, have won ptqs, top 16 nats (2 players) top 16 car tournaments, my extended list will have a solid following at Berlin. I evaluate cards well and look for help when needed, if I don't know if the card is the right choice, ill ask.